First Suite – Sounds of Jazz

Commissioned by Mr Garry Clark and the Hills Music Academy Concert Band, “Sounds of Jazz” was composed in a variety of styles common to big band jazz (Latin, Ballad & Swing) with a trombone feature throughout, including optional improvised solo spaces.

After a triumphant introduction, and a variety of ‘colours’ from the various sections of the band, the trombone kicks off the ‘smooth latin jazz’ movement, later with a ‘stop’ solo (written/improvised). The next movement, featuring some higher range ballad playing from the trombone, contains the typical ‘Hosenbugler’ warm, lush harmonic sound, and also much counterpoint within the various sections. The swing finale starts with trombone, vibes & bass clarinet, features a band ‘a capella’ chorus, trombone optional improvised solo with ‘walking’ bass clarinet, and lots of tight swing playing from the whole band.

  • Model: HM-017


Add to Cart:

For more information, please visit this product's webpage.

Copyright © 2022 Hosenbugler Music. Powered by Zen Cart